The Monad

In gnostic systems the Supreme Being is known as the Monad. The Monad is the high source of the pleroma, the region of light. The various emanations of The One are called Aeons.

The Aeons

In Gnostic systems, the aeons are the various emanations of the superior God.

From this first being,a series of different emanations occur, beginning with the hermaphroditic Barbelo,from which successive pairs of aeons emanate.The aeons as a totality constitute the pleroma, the “region of light”. The lowest regions of the pleroma are closest to the darkness; that is, the physical world.


In Gnostic tradition, the Sophia is the final and lowest emanation of God. Sophia births the demiurge, who in turn brings about the creation of materiality.

The Demiurge

The Demiurge is an entity responsible for the creation of the physical universe and the physical aspect of humanity. Moral judgements of the demiurge vary from group to group within the broad category of Gnosticism — such judgements usually correspond to each group’s judgement of the status of materiality as being inherently evil, or else merely flawed and as good as its passive constituent matter allows. In Gnosticism the Demiurge, creator of the material world, was not God but the Archon.

The Archons

The archons, in Gnosticism, were servants of the Demiurge, the “creator god” that stood between the human race and a transcendent God that could only be reached through gnosis.


Among the gnostics, gnosis was first and foremost a matter of self-knowledge, which was considered the path leading to the goal of enlightenment as the hidden knowledge.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s